Co-incidence or super-fast reaction?

Last Thursday, July 7, I was at a conference held at the convention centre of Resorts World Sentosa. The conference closing lunch was held latish and not being a VIP delegate I was left to find my own seat and so inflicted my company between two affable looking men, one of whom was from NTUC Fairprice and the other from ST Microelectronics.

Also at the table were four women, three from AVA and another who seemed to be in the head hunting business (but I’m not sure). Soon, the Fairprice man was joined by a colleague who turned out to be the supermarket chain’s new head for its global expansion ambitions.

Fairprice Int CEO

Mr Laurent Levan joined Fairprice in 2009 as Chief Executive Officer, FairPrice International. His first task is to get Faiprice going in Vietnam where last December, NTUC FairPrice Co-operative inked a joint venture agreement with Saigon Union of Trading Co-operatives Limited to set up a chain of hypermarkets in Vietnam.

Naturally, we peppered the gregarious Mr Levan with comments about our shopping experience at Fairprice outlets, especially me.

I told him inter alia that while I’m delighted with Fairprice’s move to accept payment by credit cards, I’ve one reservation. Which is that we don’t get a copy of our credit card chit. Same sentiment was expressed by one of the ladies from AVA.

Mr Levan countered saying that the Fairprice receipt would show the amount and should be enough as a record. We didn’t press our point and the conversation moved on.

Fast-forward to today when I visited a Fairprice outlet, for which the above is but a preamble to what I experienced after I paid for my purchases. I signed the credit card slip and was given the usual Fairpirce receipt detailing the purchases.

Then I was pleasantly surprised when the cashier asked: “Would you like a copy of  your credit card receipt?”

Natch i said yes.

As I pushed my laden trolley to the car park, i wondered whether it was just a co-incidence that I was offered the receipt.

Yet it seemed too much of a co-incidence, seeing that I’ve been paying by credit card at various Fairprice outlets for the past several weeks and not once was I offered a copy of the credit card receipt.

So, if it wasn’t a co-incidence, then Mr Levan sure takes feedback seriously and word has gone down expeditiously to the rank and file, so that even at Tiong Baru’s Fairprice where the aunties , including moi, usually shop, we are offered the option of being given our credit card receipts!

Leave a comment