Nicole Seah is truly popular :-D

One already suspects it but I think the stats for my post on Nicole Seah being hosted to lunch by the Lunch Party which appeared on July 7 prove it beyond a doubt.

While the average visits for my posts is in the range of about 100 per day — my best day attracted close to 1000 visits — the reports about the Lunch Party’s monthly lunch get-togethers when I write about them, usually gets fewer than average number of visits, indicating cyber “who cares”!

myapplemenu's blurb

I don’t blame that sort of response when more often than not, even the lunch participants don’t bother to read and those who do, only react by criticising the pictures taken 🙄

Yet when I wrote about Nicole Seah doing something as mundane as having lunch with people who are easily her parents’ age, the visitors kept arriving, so that that post alone garnered close to 500 visits, helped no doubt by the fact that MyApplemenu, my fav net curator, blurbed about it!

And the verdict of our arranged encounter with Ms Seah? Let me quote the “Uncle” who religiously organises the monthly lunch’s apres lunch round-up which he sends out to members. He says:

Well, Jee Say did invite Nicole Seah to our last lunch after all. She had to reschedule her photo shoot to accommodate us. I gladly volunteered to be Sir Galahad in  my champagne colored chariot to fetch her to lunch.

In my private conversation with Nicole, she struck me as someone who is unassuming, honest, intelligent and with an incredibly gentle spirit. Because of her EQ, she relates well with the young as well as older folks (well, like me).

Leads me to ask the question – why can’t the PAP attract young people like her! My conclusion is that they are looking at the wrong places, and focusing too much on academic qualifications.

I say “amen” to that and hope that Nicole won’t be spoilt by success or the attention which Sgporeans continue to pour on her, even though she didn’t win enough votes to get an NCMP seat.

But wait. There’s still another path that this impressive young woman can enter Parliament and begin cutting her teeth on the cut and thrust of the real business of the running a country. Who will gainsay a Nominated MP’s post for her in our next Parliament? I certainly won’t!

2 thoughts on “Nicole Seah is truly popular :-D

  1. Popular and useless… Just like Cheng Bock. There is a need to change. We need popular and useful. I have been observing her… she is not growing up fast enough.

  2. To be able to become useful takes time…time is not right yet,but Nicole’s time will come if she do not give up hope.

Leave a comment