Another way to honour Lee Kuan Yew

Today, I was at one of the new “integrated” developments looking at its show flats and price list.

The two property agents showing me around were attentive and informative. A bit pushy in that they tried to generate an urgency to commit but still not OTT.

Anyway, after settling down to look at price and units available, we got to indulge in a bit of small talk.

Given the events of recent days it was as natural as night becoming day for us to talk about Mr Lee Kuan Yew and the unending queues to pay respect to his memory.

“I didn’t go to any of the wakes,” confided the girl agent when the boy agent stepped away to photostat some papers for me to take home to study.

I raised an eyebrow at her confession but was pleasantly surprised by her follow up: “I have other ways to honour him. I will vote PAP at the next election.”

Pleasantly surprised because it was unprompted and better still, the exact same sentiment I hold. And which I have shared with friends privately ever since Mr Lee was no more.

No better way to honour his memory and ensure the Singapore he built with so much care won’t go from First World to the Third in fewer than 50 years!

The Prime Minister can call his election any time. It won’t make any difference to those who are determined to honour Mr Lee’s memory through supporting the party he founded.

3 thoughts on “Another way to honour Lee Kuan Yew

Leave a comment