Such gracious friends

I’ve two friends — one I’ve known more than half my life; the other just a handful of years.

The strange thing is that tho one is male and the other female. both share the same initials: PL.

The similarity doesn’t end there.

The PL whom I’ve known longer has been picking up stuff that I or my sister chose to sell over the years; and more recently, he’s also accepted an ancient cane sofa or day bed badly in need of repair from me as I try to de-clutter my life and living environment a little, encouraged most recently by what happened to the 76-year-old Ah Pek who lived in 4-room HDB flat 😦

The more recent friend has also bought a trinket from my sister who hawks her craft at http://www.etsy.com/shop/babblebaubles or more precisely, her squeeze bought something for her from the site.

As the new PL didn’t quite know what to do with the trinket, my sister and I dug deep into our cache and found one item after another that could be used to hang the trinket like a pendant. I posted them to her and thought that was that.

One Wednesday morning, I was happily surprised by a thank you note from the she-PL. The late afternoon, I got yet another surprise. A beautiful floral and fruit basket was delivered by Noelle on behalf of the he-PL to thank me for my old tacky gift.

How is that for co-incidence, considering that the two PLs don’t know each other.

But it does show that they have one more trait in common: graciousness 😀 !

 

his TQ gift

her TQ note

Leave a Reply

