The joys of turning 90!

Almost two years ago to the month, I was persuaded to join a “bonding” trip to Melaka with my friend and her friends mainly because her octogenarian mum was also going.

Not that I’m an octogenarian (yet) but I do so loathe the rushing around that these two-day one-niters involve. But with an octogenarian onboard, I reasoned there won’t be much rushing around.

I was wrong, as indicated in my post back in 2010. The matriarch of five kids, many grandchildren and equally numerous great-grandchildren was feisty and always ready to go even when those one-third her age felt they have had enough. So I was obliged not to be outdone by her several times on that trip. 😥

On Saturday night I went to her birthday party at Golden Peony Restaurant at the Conrad International Hotel and discovered that the matriarch wasn’t 87 like I thought on that Melaka trip. She was already 88 back then, as last night marked her 90th birthday. Wow!

I will let the photos below do the talking but my takeaway from the event is that there are many joys to be 90 — if you have most of your faculties intact and a loving and large family with not a little bit of moolah.

If only all of us can write such a formula as we row towards that glittering golden shore 😆 😆

Birthday party kicked off with one grand-daughter acting as MC

                      

Let the feasting begin….

My table: note the ultra petite ultra tasty sushi rolls?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First course of sweet and savour longevity buns

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then came the delectable hor d'eurves

                

Steamed sea perch with chye poh

              

 

Chicken roulade: far surpasses the standard German version!

  

Bamboo pith on bed of tofu

     

Pumpkin soup with seafood treasures: good to very last drop!

       

Longevity noodles with langoustine

 

 

 

 

 

Double sweet endings: birthday cup cake n sago, mango soup

 

 

 

 

 

 

And so we say a warm goodnight to the birthday girl, happpy yet envious of her good long and happy life!

Party winding down as part of family gathers round the much-loved birthday girl

4 thoughts on “The joys of turning 90!

  1. HI Auntie Lucia

    Even though the colours are a bit washed out and the photos are in low resolution, but they do look so yummilicious! Err…how much for a table of 10?

  2. Yeh, yeh Uncle Ashton, everyone has been criticising me for my non-photogenic food pix. I’m not Russell Wong, or even Clayton Lai lah 😆 I’m open to donations for a decent cam-phone 😛

    How much per table of 10? I don’t know n didn’t ask. But yes, everything was super-yummy, including free flow of wine and fruit juices. I’ve been to Golden P be4 and standard is always gr8!

  3. Indeed it is a blessing to be healthily around at 90 year old with all the loving and caring people around. And it will be heaven on Earth if one has a full set of teeth that will gnaw any food in its’ way, better if one is still able to tell the difference between a cod and a ‘ikan tamban’.

    The pictures here make me envy, not so much the food and beverage, it is the smiles and the happy folks in them!

    Happy Birthday to the Lucky Madam!

    patriot

  4. Uncle Patriot! Yes, it’s gr8 to be old, still have one’s faculties and best of all to have many who loves one and whom one loves still around :D!

    Often one doesn’t have it all!

Leave a Reply

