Ice lollies from Cold Storage a watery mess!

… at least that’s the case with the box I bought from its Chancery Lane outlet this afternoon.

Sure, its not a First Choice brand but an F & N brand, so you might say the fault lay with the manaufacturers. But surely as the supermarket distributing the lollies, don’t you think Cold Storage has a duty to ensure that the stuff it sells is edible?

Sure, some people may think I’ve been carrying the box around for half a day. The fact is I didn’t. I live across the road from the Chancery Lane outlet and drove home right home after paying my bill at 15.14.56. As I drove, not walk home, it was a bare 5-minute drive and hardly long enough for the lollies to have melted.

Nope, i also didn’t leave the box lying around on the kitchen or dining table. It went straight into the freezer.

Around 4pm, mum’s Picky Siti went to the freezer to get a lolly for mum and found on opening the box, each and every one was “lembek” or soft.

“Melted, melted,” she declared.

I checked. Sure enough. Every lolly was soft, clearly having melted since don’t know when within their wrappers and the box they came in.

My first reaction was to throw the whole pack away and forget about the $4.85 I had paid for it, remembering at the back of my mind what a nephew once said: “Your time is so cheap meh!”

However, on 2nd thoughts, i decided not to let Cold Storage get away with it and armed with the pack of melted ice lollies drove back to Cold Storage across the road.

I was somewhat mollified by the carpark lady guard who on hearing that I’d come to return “bad food” allowed me to get into the carpark without paying the mandatory $1.50 parking fee. At least she empathised with my having to make a return trip.

Indeed, had my reception at the supermarket been as acommodating, I might not have written this post at all.

But no, the supervisor I spoke to and showed my unacceptable purchase to said with a deadpan face:”Ok, you go and get another box.”

No word of apology. No pleasantries. Nothing. And she wasn’t even serving another customer.

Actually when i set out, I had intended an exchange. But her take-it-or-leave-it attitude invited me to leave it so I said: “No, I want a refund.”

To which she replied: “Did you pay by card or cash?”

As i fumbled in my wallet for the receipt, she repeated her question, deadpan.

“Card,” I said, still fumbling for the receipt.

“Just give me the card.”

I did as instructed, even though by then I had found the receipt and proffered it and which she ignored.

The refund went thru at 16.12.25.

“Just sign,” she said. I did so and gratuitously added she should check that the rest of the ice lolly stock is ok, which she ignored. She dumped my melted lollies into the bin, then marched off, hopefully to check on the stuff as I suggested.

Moral of this encounter? After my June encounter as detailed in the info I passed to my friend Peng Yew http://boo-n-bouquet.blogspot.com/2011/06/cold-storage-weighing-machine-that.html i should have learnt my lesson n give the Chancery Lane outlet a miss.

However, its nearness to my home is my Archilles heel. So serves me right for going there again and again, despite the overcharging and indifferent service.

And end up wasting precious time and thought posting about a very unpleasant experience when my intention at the start of today had been to post yet again about the miracle of the Parking Lot prayer!

2 thoughts on “Ice lollies from Cold Storage a watery mess!

  1. Stick to Mac burgers — they don’t melt nor rot, not even if you leave them for six months in the open in Singapore’s itchy and hot weather. And if you stuff enough Big Mac in your body, you can last longer than a certain embalmed chairman in Tiananmen Square.

Leave a Reply

