Survey is real says OCBC

Apropos the post be4 this, my feedback to the bank via it’s website elicited this response late last nite:

Thank you for your email of 20 June 2011.

We wish to advise that OCBC has commissioned Joshua Research Consultants to conduct the Monthly Customer Satisfaction Survey on our behalf. The purpose of conducting this survey is to get customers’ opinions and feedback about their experiences with the bank.

To ensure confidentiality, no other personal information of yours is shared with them by OCBC Bank. Please be assured that your personal information and feedback shall only be used for this Customer Satisfaction Survey upon your permission, and shall not be revealed to other parties.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.

Please be assured that your feedback has been brought to the attention of our relevant department. We thank you again for your invaluable feedback.

Please feel free to email us if you have further enquiries. Alternatively, you may contact our Customer Service Executives at 1800 363 3333 or call +65 6363 3333 via your local operator if you are calling from overseas.

  • I give the bank good marks for being fairly prompt in giving me a response. I wrote on June 20 to its Internet feedback channel and its reply came late on Tuesday June 22.
  • I also give the bank good marks in that when I wrote to its Ms Koh Ching Ching regarding my feedback on June 22, she replied today (June 23), assuring me someone would follow up. Actually someone did, except my alert to her and the first reply from the bank crossed each other.
  • I give the bank good marks again because someone from the bank actually read my “real or fake survey” post and left a comment inviting me to give the bank my feedback.

Yet I’m left wondering whether the people involved really understand what my concerns are?

Dear OCBC, I’m not afraid that my feedback will be shared with other parties. What I’m displeased about is more basic: that a) you gave my contact number to a party you outsourced your survey to without asking me if it’s OK and b) ditto for telling them I went to the Clementi Mall branch.

You must also have given them my name, right?

What else I won’t know that doesn’t contravene the Banking Secrecy Act!

It’s already irritating enough that I’m regularly called by banks whose credit cards I hold, offering me fund transer facilities.

A pity that OCBC (whose credit cards I don’t hold) which provides such exemplary service at its branches — main, Lucky Plaza (closed down), Orchard, Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh, Marina Bay Financial Centre, Marina Bay Sands and yes, both the old Clementi Central and now Clementi Mall branch, I’ve been to them all — should suddenly score its own goal with such a needless “customer” survey 😥

2 thoughts on “Survey is real says OCBC

  1. Haha, Tekko, like that what’s the point of having the Banking Secrecy Act or has our garmen repealed tt while I was sleeping? Fact is while I’ve no quarrels with revelation of my info to bodies mandated by law such as the credit bureau, MAS, CPIB etc, I find it most intrusive to get commercial calls pinpointing me to a specific banking experience. Still, I guess one doesn’t go for good banking etiquette when one uses a bank nowadays but for the safety one believes it offers one’s $. 🙄

Leave a Reply

