I abandoned my supermart cart

One day after I signaled to the Japanese woman who abandoned her Cold Storage supermarket shopping trolley in the carpark of Chancery Court, I did the same myself today — but in a different carpark,  that of Great World City.

The disincentive not to do so was low: the deposit for Cold Storage’s trolleys at GWC is a mere 20 cents. The incentive to abandon was huge: the carpark is large and I’d parked a good seven or eight minutes’ walk away. Also, with parking charges at $1.77 per hour, it made no sense to waste more time retrieving 20 cents only to get hit at the exit!

So, I did what the Japanese woman did, but first making sure the abandoned cart wasn’t in anyone’s way.

PS: If I seem to be going to the supermarket a lot more often in recent months, it’s because we eat in a lot more often, due to mum’s growing mobility problems. Further, I’m now shopping for two families due to a family member’s serious health problems! 😦

Leave a Reply

