Wooooooooooot, what a treat from the Govt!

What a lovely, lovely letter I got from the Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) yesterday. Although dated June 30 and signed by no less than the CEO, Mr Chan Heng Kee, himself, it also arrived on the dot of June 30 ie yesterday.

Now how’s that for efficiency? Tho I suspect that the “Notification Letter” had been posted earlier so that recipients would have something happy to look forward to, today, as the goodies offered are effective from July 1.

And yes, I was a bit miffed to be addressed as “Dear Sir/Madam” but then one mustn’t nit-pick. Even banks to whom I’ve entrusted good sums (based on my own standards of course) of money often use this form of address, underlining that they couldn’t care less about marginal customers.

Anyway back to the WDA “notification”.

As a Singaporean with a monthly earned income of  $1.7K and less per month and being 35 and older, I’ve been offered up to 95% funding to get more training and also employability skills.

There are also awards to keep my nose at the study mill. As they say, a picture speaks a thousand words, so check the WDA notification reproduced below for the details.

Now, all I’ve to do is find a course that interests me at one of the CETs, as even with 95% funding, I’m not going to waste my time doing something that makes my eyes glaze over.

In this regard, I might have to let this taxpayer funded freebie pass because in none of the CETs have I found a course offering Chinese language or qualifications to become a property agent.

So, WDA consider improving your menu of choices, can? Otherwise, you’ve given me a gift I’ve no use for!

encouraging me to go back to skool?

Leave a Reply

