Another people’s day

Another annual ritual has just ended. A large swatch of visitors has just left and mayb a few more will drop by be4 bedtime. And we’d be almost done for the Tiger Year.

Dad’s 3rd family always visits our home on the first Sunday after the first day of the Chinese New Year, provided that Sunday doesn’t fall on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th day of the New Year when that family will be busy receiving their own guests.

If it does, then that visit would be moved to the following Sunday, so long as it doesn’t go beyond the 12th day, so that my side of the family would have time to make the requisite return visit be4 Chap Goh Mei!

As usual this year, I’d bitten off more than I can chew. I always cook. And with mum’s Siti in situ, I thought it should be easier. But not really. Every year, it’s only after the event that I swear I’m going to have food for this mass visit provided by caterers.

Trouble is, their numbers are too many for my humble kitchen to cope well and yet too few for any serious caterer!

Then as the weeks and months pass, I forget and get adventurous and ambitious again when the next CNY rolls around, only to regret again, as I sweat over the hot pots and the long hours to create dishes that are consumed within 30 minutes or less!

Talk about people not learning from their mistakes. I’m a prime example.

I’m again making the resolution to have outside catering for the next Lunar New Year’s visitors. Mayb I should force all the dribs and drabs who drop in to all come visit in one day… then mayb a caterer will think it worthwhile to accept my order..

Mayb, just mayb…

Leave a Reply

