Road behaviour mirrors life behaviour

Early this afternoon, I was driving along Bukit Timah Road towards the CBD. And ran into another of those tree-trimming exercises where one whole lane on the right-hand side was closed off, leaving only two lanes passable to traffic.

Way before the blocked off portion were signs indicating that the extreme right-hand lane was closed. Yet, as is per normal, motorists continued to pile into that lane, as if blind to the signs or optimistic that the signs were just a hoax.

As the signs were no hoax, those who had deliberately gone into the “closed” lane found themselves unable to proceed further when they arrived at the spot blocked off.

Again as is per normal, these recalcitrant motorists began to try and squeeze themselves back into the open lanes, causing those who had obeyed the signs to slow down and let them thru or if both sides were bloody-minded, two or more cars could end up in an ugly altercation. Boomz!

Occasionally, I have been bloody-minded and refused to give way. But I always feel bad afterwards for my “meaness”. So, most times, I allow at least one car to filter into my right of way in order to feel a saintly afterglow.

Today, it’s no different. Allowed a couple of cars thru, in fact, as I ruminated how like life such road behaviour is.

In life, so many don’t heed the warning signs and end up ruining themselves and possibly others as well. Yet many who end up in dire straits still expect society to bail them out. And what society will refuse such bail out, even if the “victims” had only themselves to blame?

I can’t imagine even our hard-headed MCYS refusing to give public assistance to a destitute who ended that way thru his own fault and leaving him to die on the streets! (Imagine the outcry!)

Back in November when I was in Melbourne, we always passed a young woman begging along Chapel Street, near the Prahran market. She stood out because beggars (or tissue sellers) were practically non-existent wherever I went in that city.

TK was particularly hostile to her, telling me repeatedly she used to give her money when she first appeared, but hardened her heart after her seeing her use the money to buy booze!

I badly wanted to pass the beggar some money but refrained for fear of offending TK. Yet I felt bad afterwards at my own cowardice.

Thankfully one day be4 I returned home, I passed the beggar woman without TK in tow. It was one of the nicest feelings to be able to pass her a couple of bucks be4 walking away.

OK, so she’s an alchie. She doesn’t use what I give her to buy food to stave off hunger. The money would only fuel her alcohol dependency. She might even buy drugs etc etc 

Perhaps people like me, who always need to feel good instead of showing “tough love”, are also those who encourage bad behaviour in life and on the roads?

8 thoughts on “Road behaviour mirrors life behaviour

  1. Thanks, Blur! U r always so kind. But I’m not sure if it’s a good heart or a sucker’s conscience! 😉

  2. Hehe, then we have the same kind of conscience. When I saw the beggars in China with babies in tow, I just want to bring the babies back to Singapore so they will grow up in a proper home!

  3. Blur, in goodness, u rank far above me. I wld never dream of considering bringing a destitute home, even a baby! And definitely not stray animals, sigh!

  4. The ultimate test of whether one can tell oneself the truth:

    Are you charitable because you genuinely feel sorry for said person who needs help, or are you charitable just to make yourself feel less guilty?

  5. You are being honest with yourself and the world. That is surely better than one who belongs in the second group but thinks they are in the first.

  6. Haha, I think most pple belong in the second category, because most of us know the concept “where but for the grace of XYZ, go I”.

Leave a Reply

