Ascott Raffles Place here we come!

This time last week, I was all pumped up about “consuming” the prize I won in a Twitter contest by re-tweeting contest announcements by Ascott International.

To recap, I won a 3-day 2 nite stay at any of the Ascott Group’s residences in the Asia Pacific.

There were many to choose from, as the prize covered not only those under the Ascott brand but also those under its Somerset and Citadine brands.

For me, I first looked for the country: China was my preference in particular Ascott Raffles City in Beijing which had newly opened.

I’ve a thing about new places. I love them to bits.

But practicality kicked in as I wanted to share the price with my mother and her maid. Given my mother’s rather fragile health, it had to be something near home.

I toyed with the idea of Ascott Kuala Lumpur or Somerset in Bukit Ceylon, as I’ve a friend with a comfy car who makes fortnightly visits to KL. We could hitch a ride from her and then in KL we would be well taken care of by other old friends who all have four wheels, plenty of time and a great inclination to be generous hosts.

In the end, however, sensibility decided that it’s best to stay put in Singapore and sample Ascott Singapore Raffles Place, for the convenience of my mum and to share my win with more people, such as other family members and friends.

And of course there were bragging brownies in the fact that the owners of Ascott Raffles Place had just been conferred the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s Architectural Heritage Award for carefully preserving the unique features of Asia Insurance Building – once, gasp, Singapore’s tallest building and a 1950s heritage icon — while transforming it into its flagship premier serviced residence!

I like basking in others’ reflected glory! I’m that shallow! 😀

So there we were last Thursday night, madly packing all sorts of stuff to take with us to Ascott the next day, to make the temporary residence more like home.

So much so that my mother’s maid said tartly: “Ma’am, we are taking so many things with us, we might as well stay home..”

Beware what comes out of the mouths of maids, as I’ll reveal in the next post.

2 thoughts on “Ascott Raffles Place here we come!

  1. Pingback: Short, sweet and wanting more « FOOD fuels me to talk…

  2. Pingback: Informasi Lowongan Kerja Marketing Communication Officer PT ASCOTT INTERNATIONAL MANAGEMENT INDONESIA Terbaru @ LowonganKerjaBaru.web.id

Leave a Reply

