Popularity of St Teresa post a divine mystery?

There’s something of a divine mystery about the popularity of the post I wrote on last New Year’s eve.

A loss in the extended family led me to reflect on the power of prayers and more particularly the fact that some, perhaps many, of us regret it when our prayers are answered.

Or in the case of what happened in my family, the fact that when seriously sick people prayed to stay alive or get well — or their loved ones prayed on their behalf — and had their prayers answered, it also meant that some total stranger had to die to fulfil those desperate prayers.

That’s the other side of the ledger that few pay attention to, when praying for something to benefit themselves.

In that post, I cited the quote attributed to St Teresa of Avila that sometimes more tears are caused by answered prayers, with the tears flowing not only from those who got what they prayed for, but also for those chosen as the conduit to fulfil those prayers!

The tags I used for that post included St Teresa of Avila, Hota and Singapore Human Organ Transplant Act.

If anything, I had expected the search engines to direct visitors to my post via the tags “Singapore Human Organ Transplant Act” or Hota. After all, isn’t this the hot topic in Singapore this year?

But no, what search engines kept sending to my site were via the tags Saint Teresa of Avila,  St. Teresa of Avila,  St Teresa,  etc. At least that’s what my blog statistics showed.

At first I didn’t pay much attention. Occasionally, some posts find 3rd party appeal for whatever reason; then, the interest would wane. I’ve written about such sleepers here.

But the way the St Teresa of Avila post continued to pop up in recent weeks, especially in recent days, as the most frequently read post, prompted me to do some investigations.

I tried Google, the most popular search engine. But when I typed in St Teresa Avila, I found that my post wasn’t in the first 10 pages with the St T link. And I doubt anyone looking for info on St T would have gone beyond that to find me!

So, I’m none the wiser as to whom or what’s clicking on that particular post. The fact is that something in the St Teresa of Avila post is making it the most active for the past day, the last 7 days, the last month, the last quarter and for the whole year.

At this rate, the St Teresa post may overtake my all-time top visited post of “Over-reaction to melamine in milk in China” before this year’s end!

One thought on “Popularity of St Teresa post a divine mystery?

Leave a Reply

