So did Geocities die on Oct 26?

So did Geocities die on Oct 26 or not and with it the end of my 9-year old website www.geocities.com/lucy1808?

Oct 26 has come and gone but www.geocities.com/lucy1808 is still very much alive. And despite dire warnings about not being able to access the site and all my precious files with their many hours of painful hard coding, they remain to my surprise very much intact!

geoI just signed on and they are all there.

geo2To think that I fell for Yahoo and Geocities’ hard sell back in August and post haste signed up for a Yahoo small business webhosting account, believing in Yahoo’s promise that somehow lucy1808 would magically be transferred to the new domain.

No, such luck, as I discovered — and despite many emails for help, got absolutely zilch in help! Yahoo’s Help pages suck too because the answers merely led me on a merry go round.

I can say, hand on my heart, that WordPress which hosts this blog for free has been much more proactive and helpful whenever I encountered problems.

But having paid USD71.76 for my Yahoo small business webhosting account, I shall stick with it for one year and meanwhile shop for a new host who hopefully can move my new site www.xingrencha.biz lock, stock and barrel when my contract with Yahoo ends.

Which brings me to another point. I had signed up fully expecting to pay just USD59.88 (because of the promise of a first-year special promo price of USD4.99) geo3when, before I could complete the registration, I was offered the option of “private domain registration” for an additional USD11.88 provided by Melbourne IT — whoever it may be.

For this extra sum, “all contact information other than registrant name will be privately registered”.

I was caught between the devil and the deep blue sea. I didn’t know what was meant by “all contact information” but erring on the side of caution, I decided I might as well be hanged for a sheep as for a lamb. And pay more than I expected or wanted to. After all, I certainly didn’t want my address and mobile number to become public property, as a result of opting for a public domain registration.

I wish Yahoo had indicated this in its headline packages rather than spring the surprise near the end of the sign on!

If this post serves to put just one person on alert when looking for a web host, I would be more than satisfied.

2 thoughts on “So did Geocities die on Oct 26?

  1. Pingback: All About Yahoo! » So did Geocities die on Oct 26?

  2. Pingback: Xingrencha’s gone west « FOOD fuels me to talk…

Leave a Reply

