Birthday haul

With my birthday already over for almost a month, I must record this year’s “haul” before more time passes and everything becomes a blur.

First, MK kindly bought lunch at Din Tai Fung at Bishan (my choice because I wanted to shop at Fairprice afterwards), followed by cake n coffee at Coffee Bean. She also gave me three CDs of Hokein songs.

Unfortunately, I misplaced two of the CDs immediately so have to make do with the remaining CD. She kept asking y I’m playing the same CD in my car when I gave her lifts and I had to tell her the truth. Of cos, she was none too pleased.

noodles, soup n dumpling

noodles, soup n dumpling

TC n CT were regular as always with their celebratory meal treat and also their regular bottle of wine gift, for me to drink at home. I like going out with them as CT always wants to drive, something I could do without at night– especially when I drink!

As usual, they picked the Cathay Restaurant and we always have the table that gives us an eagle’s eye view of the junction of Orchard Road,  Penang Lane, Bras Basar Road and one exit of the Orchard MRT that’s always “people mountain, people sea”.

The dishes they picked were:  shark’s bone soup, green Hongkong kailan and soft steamed rice crepe rolls filled with delectable seafood in a superior broth, all generously accompanied with garlic and chopped red chilli padi, followed by pomelo beads  in mango and sago soup which is my particular favourite.  

emerald green vege

emerald green vege

shark's bone soup

shark's bone soup

roll full of gdness

roll full of gdness

 

chilli n garlic

chilli n garlic

rich mango sago with pomelo beads

rich mango sago with pomelo beads

Then there’re the usual and predictable hongbaos from immediate family: Daffy and bil.

Mum skipped this year becos she’s stopped handling money in a meaningful way. Last year, she named a sum for me to withdraw.  The latest change means she’s become more detached or simply she can’t cope with money details any more. Either way, the result is the same.

Also, among the MIAs are my two regular well-wishers from overseas. Friends of over 40 years, they’ve both overlooked the day. But life goes on and life gets busier…

Nephew H provided a Philip’s electronic photo frame which I’m still trying to fill with pix… all 500 of them…be4 calling in the electrician uncle in to add a new power point to run the gadget. Wish he would stick to giving me something virtual (like MS Office which he gave as a X’mas present), as I loathe to acquire too many physical posessions.

And of cos I treated myself n immediate family to lunch at Kuishin-bo as recorded here.

3 thoughts on “Birthday haul

  1. Giga, thanks fr yr gd wishes which r never belated!! My birthday celebrations are often so dragged out that it seems like I’m having a birthday every other month!

  2. Pingback: Generously feted again « FOOD fuels me to talk…

Leave a Reply

