NUSS membership has its privileges..

.. really…and many…
I have four club memberships and the one I hold at National University of Singapore Society (NUSS) is the best value for money, service and variety.

latest NUSS outlet

latest NUSS outlet

I first became a member in circa 1970 when the society, called Guild House then, had its premises in a rather dingy bungalow at 15, Evans Road.

I had no intention of becoming a member but the friend who brought me for a drink there was part of a group trying to expand the membership. The price of membership was $100 and I paid just $50 because one of the membership activists offered to put up the difference, as a sort of incentive.

Atho I wasn’t a product of the NUS (at that time called University of Singapore), I was welcomed as n associate member.

So voila, I became a member and for a few years, paid my monthly subs which cldn’t have been more than $5, but remember in 1970, a Grange Road apartment of 1,400sf could be bought for under $100K.

Thereafter disinterest set in. I stopped paying my subs and resigned myself to the fact that I might b kicked out. The years passed. Then one fine day i received a letter asking me to revive my membership. No demand for past dues; no recrimination.

And I thought why not? Kent Ridge Guild House was about to open and the monthly subs were a “princely” $20!

Unlike the other clubs I joined subsequently (at least two are hugely losing propositions in that I hardly use them; and their membership prices have gone from hero to zero-almost), NUSS didn’t stop at just one location.

It gave me Orchard Cineleisure for 8 or 10 years; and when that lease expired, gave me Suntec City. Be4 them, there were facilities at the then fairly new Amara Hotel as well as Adam Road, altho the latter has never been my favourite destination.

And even be4 the Kent Ridge premises could begin to fray at the edges, NUSS has since the beginning of November moved to spanking new premises at the Alumni Complex still in Kent Ridge.

In a few days time, another outlet opens in the old Singapore University premises in Bukit Timah Road, a five-minute drive from my home.

Great locations; delicious food at very decent prices and usually good service: these sum up why I never regretted being an NUSS member.

But that was not all. A couple of years ago, when I reached a certain magic number (hehe, better don’t reveal my age, hor!) in seniority, I found I no longer had to pay monthly subs which are now $45. Apparently, one has to be a member for a certain number of years to qualify for this privilege.

nasi worth zik-ba-ban

nasi worth zik-ba-ban

 With the $45 saved every month, I could indulge in the above as well as the many delectable sets offered at the Suntec location.

At $22 per person for a three course meal, (with coffee, tea, soft drink and garlic bread thrown in) it’s a steal because the ingredients are excellent, the presentation stylish and meticulous.

A picture speaks a thousand words and all of them directed at our stomachs as a medley of chicken n fish dishes (below) which my family and I had over a recent week-end shows.

nothing fishy here

nothing fishy here

my hallibut

my hallibut

the real mcCoy

the real mcCoy

To round up our lip-smacking mains, was a tiramisu made more delightful with candied orange slice. As usual, we order a liqour to toss into our dessert for an extra kick to end the meal.

sweet ending on a high

sweet ending on a high

I’ve regretted many of my club memberships but never, never being an NUSS member. That’s why I think anyone reading this and isn’t yet a member should make a bee-line for its about-to-xpire offer which ends on Dec 6.

Be4 that date, entrance fees are $3,000, but one-third of this will come back to the member in the form of a $1,000 F&B credit (no limit on what the amout could be spent on in the club’s many outlets).

For the introducer, there’ll be $300 worth of F&B credit but I’ll waive this $300 to anyone who asks me to be their introducer, so that their entrance fee in effect works out to be just $1,700. I’ll also share with the person any winnings from the lucky draw connected with the membership drive.

I’m doing this because someone did it for me almost 40 years ago and I’m still enjoying the benefits today.

After Dec 6, NUSS entrance fees will go up to $4,000 and $10,000 in March 2010. But why delay, as the length of your membership will determine whether like me, you will get a life-time gift of subs waiver when you reach that magic XX years old?

12 thoughts on “NUSS membership has its privileges..

  1. I’m delighted to provide the support! And also to share with you what feedback I’ve recd fm friends who have enjoyed NUSS facilities.

    1) ex-director of a marina and member of NUSS and a sailing club:”I agree. NUSS is the best value for money ”

    2) head of his own PR firm: “I bought a NUSS membership for my son (a journalist) earlier this year for $3k thru a friend and he is very happy with his membership. He takes us (my wife and I) to the club on weekends – still trying to use up the $1k food vouchers! Wonder if I should get one for my daughter who is still studying in Melbourne!!”

    3) a non-member who has been guest at NUSS facilities many times: “Membership in NUSS is certainly a good proposition, having lost five clubs: three golf clubs (two in Malaysia), two city clubs – Fort Canning and Pinetree – none of which could match NUSS in value. At the peak, my club memberships, including those I still hold – if sold – would have fetched me more than 1/2 million bucks. “

  2. Pingback: What makes a post popular? « FOOD fuels me to talk…

  3. I have an NUSS membership to transfer out. Anyone interested?

    You have to pay $2,000 to the Club for transfer fee. I’m happy to sell it for S$1,500/-, which means you get at S$500 discount!

    There is also a possibility of capital appreciation – in 2010, the membership fee will be increased to S$10,000/-

  4. Hi Emily, my post was abt a promotion which ended last year. And it was for fresh memberships. Not sure what u mean by “transfer” NUSS membership. Best u contact them at http://www.nuss.org.sg and find out? (^———^)

  5. Hi Dawn: I don’t think NUSS memberships r transferable. Also, I don’t encourage peeps to sell their NUSS memberships.

  6. To Curmy Chan: sorry, I’ve decided against allowing any more offers to transfer NUSS membership in my comment section. If you need to transfer, please go to NUSS and ask for help. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

