No moo for me, thanks!

I used to love milk in all forms and all its derivatives like cream, ice-cream, tiramisu, yogurt, cheeses, and so on.

Then a few years ago, I saw a TV program showing how much oil there was in per spoonful of Haagen Daz ice-cream. Somehow when ice-cream was melted and then reduced to oil, it looked yucky. So I went off ice-cream.

In 2006, I discovered a cholesterol problem and decided on a doctor friend’s suggestion to start eating oats. That’s when I discovered oat milk and started using it to replace the milk in my coffee. And I never looked back as I found how much I liked Oatleys.

I’m now doubly glad i got off milk when I received this forwarded mail from my cousin J, detailing 10 reasons (reproduced below) why one shouldn’t drink milk or eat its related products:. I don’t buy all the reasons but reasons 1, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are already enough.

1)   Cows are not milk machines. After years of living in filthy conditions, being kept constantly pregnant and being forced to produce about 10 times more milk than they naturally would, dairy cows are slaughtered.

milk machine?

milk machine?

2)   “Moo” is not your first language. Human babies don’t say “goo goo moo moo”, so why treat them like calves? Humans are the only animals who drink breast milk after infancy and the only animals who drink milk from a different species. It makes as much sense for people to drink cow’s milk as it would for dogs to drink giraffe’s milk!

3)   Cookies and cramps don’t mix. Studies show that more than 90 per cent of Chinese people are lactose-intolerant. Can you say “abdominal cramps, bloating and diarrhea”?

4)   Dairy is pusitively scary. There’s more in that glass of milk than you think. Dairy products are commonly contaminated with blood, pus, pesticides and antibiotics.

5)   There’s veal in your cereal. Milk fuels the cruel veal industry. Considered by-products of the dairy industry, male calves are dragged away to veal crates when they are just hours old.

6)   Milk is bad for the bone. Contrary to a popular milky myth, studies strongly implicate dairy foods in causing, rather than preventing, osteoporosis, because their high protein content leaches calcium from the body.

7)   Milk does the planet bad. Bad for mother cows, milk production is also bad for Mother Earth. It’s a major source of water pollution: just one dairy cow produces as much waste every day as two dozen people could produce — but with no toilets, sewers or treatment plants.

8)   The white stuff isn’t the right stuff. Milk is formulated to meet the nutritional needs of calves, who have four stomachs and gain an average of 115 kilograms in their first six months of life. It’s mad for humans to chug moo-juice!

9)   No grain means lots of pain. Every glass of milk takes a meal away from hungry people. Crops which could be used to feed the hungry are instead used to feed dairy cows. It takes a huge amount of grain cycled through cows to produce a very small amount of milk.

10) A milk moustache is a real heartbreaker. Devoid of fibre and complex carbohydrates but loaded with saturated fat and cholesterol, dairy products have been linked to heart disease, high blood pressure, obesity, diabetes and certain types of cancer.

Spokesman for PETA, the group which drew up the 10 reasons, said:”All cow’s milk — whether it’s poisoned with melamine or not — is an unhealthy mix of contaminants, cholesterol and fat.

“The best bet for people who care about their health is to switch to healthy and humane soya, rice or almond milk and give dairy products the boot.”

I’ll drink to that and add Oatleys!

7 thoughts on “No moo for me, thanks!

  1. Very easy. Too easy for people who perhaps don’t think enough out of the box, or have any semblance of physiological knowledge, to create lists like that. There are lot of points I both agree as well as disagree with, and even more that I do not profess to know enough to do either. However, I have to bring up something about point 6.

    I’m sorry, I have trawled the web for concrete medical articles on journal archives for excess milk causing osteoporosis – and there aren’t any. It’s much like the claim that newborn babies have an innate reflex that prevents them from inhaling water as soon as they are born, therefore rationalising water births – which as we who know better from pure basic physiology, is a load of nonsense. The only possible correlation I can think of between excess milk and osteoporosis is possible excess calcium inhibiting bone turnover, but surely that would mean drinking about 2 gallons of milk a day in order for that to happen….

    Environmental concerns are naturally very valid, and I have nothing to argue against that, nor the by product that is veal. I have reservations against the argument that food for cows could be better used for food for starving people in 3rd world countries, because 1) it’s mainly grass/hay that are dumped in silos 2) people starve in the 3rd world country for bigger politico-economic reasons (read: corruption), and surely such an argument is too overly simplistic.

    As for the other points of bits in the milk eg blood etc – I can’t say for the antibiotics, but, again, I wonder if whoever created that list has actually done any research into it and see exactly what the processes are post -milking. Unless you are a true old fashioned farmer living in the sticks and are completely and utterly self sufficient, I highly doubt that anyone these days drinks milk straight from the cow and consume everything else that comes with it.

    Morever, can not the same things, if present in animal milk, be present in human milk as well, if you think about it? Not that we pasteurise/filter/whatever that we feed straight into babies from ourselves, but from animals on a large agricultural scale, of course we do.

    Over and above all, milk is a neccessity. There has always been a reason why humans continue to consume milk. If not adults – maybe it’s not that neccessary for us, but you cannot argue that infants can always get the required amount of breastmillk from mum – more often than not, they need top ups or supplements, and what happens if mum cannot express breastmilk? If there was no cow milk, half the human population would not be here.

    So, I’m afraid it’s a neccessity after all, and no matter how many lists trying to discourage people from consuming cows milk, there will still be a need for it.

  2. Incidentally, if PETA wants to argue for animal rights, a blanket boycott of cows milk surely is not the way forward – if it’s the treatment of cattle in farms that they are against, why not encourage people to go for products from ethically farmed animals instead? They do exist…

  3. 1) Thank u Areya for dropping by and also adding me to your blogroll.

    2) Thank you 2 for helping me to think straight re the anti-milk circular. Guess I bought it hook, line n sinker because I’ve gone off milk myself. And the strangest thing is that I discover now when I unthinkingly add milk to coffee or order a long flat white or coffee latte, I almost invariably get a bad tummy. Must have developed lactose intolerance fm long abstention.

    3) I’m glad you’ve come back to writing a lot, as you write well, sensibly, sensitively and intelligently.

    4) I particularly learnt much fm your rant on the girl who died from a bleeding brain. Both journalistically as well as medically. I once fell down outside Tang’s n at the Raffles Hospital was given the same advice. Altho it’s two years since that incident, I’m always on the look out for any untoward happenings concerning my head.

    5)Lastly, with baby on the way, pse don’t think me patronising if I suggest u must try more to look at happier things. I just noticed the Langkawi label on yr image header. It’s a place I really love!

  4. Hey Lucy, thanks for visiting. You are right I do need to focus on happier things. Problem is that there is too much to do at the moment and I’ve been feeling particularly stressed, hence the recent onslaught of ranty posts. Trust me when I’m more relaxed I hardly touch the net! 🙂 Langkawi is superb. I would recommend it to anyone as an alternative to Thailand/Indonesia 🙂

  5. Areya, it’s good to read your rants and they are good because you really pour your heart n soul into them! Just remember that there are other things just as impt now; no, I mean more impt, now.

    I’ve added you to my blog but as I told Synette, I don’t know whether it will get those listed more visitors, as mine isn’t the most traffic generating of blogs 😉

  6. Thank you for linking me. Don’t worry – I write primarily for myself, so traffic or the lack thereof doesn’t bother me 🙂

Leave a Reply

