Egg-sactly…

my kind of paradise!

my kind of paradise!

Years ago, when I was working in the UK, there was an egg promotion campaign and the tagline (slogan as it was known as then) with all its double entendres was: “Go to work on an egg!”

I can’t recall the exact ads that went with the tagline which was repeated frequently on TV and radio but I think they had to do with the myriad ways one could eat an egg, underlining its versatility and universality (some vegetarians I knew in London ate eggs).

I didn’t need ads to persuade me that eggs were and still are the way to go. I love the stuff, despite the fact that I was given a soft boiled egg every morning be4 I left for school  — and that since kindergarten. (Many I know hate what they were given as children, but not me!)

I’m a creature of old habits especially when it comes to food: I love rice porridge and marmite too, and these were also breakfast staples when I was a child.

Still, in recent years, there were occasions, when for weeks, even months, I tried avoiding eggs, as did/do several members of my family. The reason? The bad press given to eggs which blames it for raising bad cholesterol levels in people who consume them.

However, more recently, the unhealthy allegations against eggs have become more muted. None is more delighted than my mother, who like me, is very fond of eggs.

“Look this report says I can eat up to four eggs a week without ill effect,” she would declare triumphantly whenever she came across a newspaper story contradicting the health scare.

And fact is, much though we like eggs, it is a rare week that each of us eat as many as four in seven days. This is because soft boiled eggs are no longer de rigeur staples at breakfast. For other meals, there are so many meat andfish choices and varieties that it isn’t necessary to fall back on eggs to get our shot of protein. 

Instead, eggs have gone somewhat up market with many clubs and restaurants elevating them to be a part of all-day English breakfast, egg benedictine, egg florentine etc

Whether poached or fried, the best thing about these dishes is that the egg piece de resistance comes with the yolk barely cooked, leaking golden goodness at the first prick of the knife or fork.

Which brings me to Mrs Seow’s suggestion for lunch next week at Ricciotti at the Riverwalk. She couldn’t have proposed anything more eggsactly to my taste as the restaurant has a lengthy list of lip smacking egg dishes to die for:

EGGS BENEDICTE – S$15.80
poached eggs with baked ham and hollandaise sauce

EGGS FLORENTINE – S$15.80
poached eggs with spinach, mushrooms and Hollandaise sauce

EGGS RICCIOTTI – S$16.80
poached eggs with crabmeat, spinach, tomato and Hollandaise sauce

FRITTATA ITALIAN OMELETTE
– mushrooms and parmigiano cheese – S$15.80
– spinach and salmon – S$15.80
– zucchini and peppers – S$15.80

SCRAMBLED EGGS
– crabmeat and roast tomatoes – S$16.50
– salmon and mascarpone cheese – S$16.50
– gorgonzola cheese and spinach – S$16.50

SUNNY SIDE UP EGGS
– Italian sausage – S$15.80
– Parma Ham – S$15.80
– Grilled Vegetables – S$15.80

Considering that Ricciotti comes from the same Garibaldi stable as Gunther’s, I’m amazed that it has prices so reasonable, even if by hawkers’ standards they are a king’s ransom for the lowly but much loved egg. 

Leave a Reply

